1955 Society

Home / 1955 Society

In 1955, the Indiana General Assembly passed legislation permitting a township to create a non-partisan system of school government. Because of this legislation, the Metropolitan District of Washington Township came into being on August 1, 1955. This legislative change from a trustee-based system to an elected school board was the first action in a long history of stakeholder-driven support of public education and setting a higher standard for educational excellence in Washington Township.

In the years that have followed, that stakeholder-driven support has come to mean millions of private dollars invested to advance the achievements of world-class public education. It is our primary mission to build on the legacy of those visionaries in 1955 and enrich the lives of our students with the best public education experience in the state. We do that, primarily, through our Annual Fund, which affords us the opportunity to award hundreds-of-thousands of dollars annually to our teachers, classrooms and schools. This giving society represents the most dedicated of those Annual Fund supporters.

We invite you to become a member of the Advancement Center’s most important giving society. It’s simple. All unrestricted gifts of at least $1,000 per year to the Annual Fund qualify you for membership, which includes:

  • Invitations to a donor appreciation reception, North Central Hall of Fame Reception and other special events
  • Website and Annual Report recognition
  • Discount opportunities for Advancement Center events and with corporate sponsors
  • An 8×8 brick in the North Central High School Brick Plaza when you join
  • Gift Certificate to the North Central Spirit Shop
  • 1955 Society Notepad
  • A Washington Township Performing Arts pass

The easiest way for us to make the greatest impact — to fulfill the mission that was created in 1955 — is to continue investing in our Annual Fund. Please be a part of that legacy by joining the 1955 Society today. Contact Emily Kaiser, Executive Director of the Advancement Center, for more information.

2018/2019 – 1955 Society Members

Greg & Sally Akers
Gaurav & Rebecca Arora
Tag & Marta Birge
Lynn Boatman
Justin & Claire Bolles
Eleanor Bookwalter
Dan & Val Boots
Charlie W. Brown
Robert & Jasmin Burch
Karole Butz
Dave & Marta Carter
Dwight & Ann Chernish
Shawn & Ellen Collinsworth
Ryan & Kelli Jane Cronk
Ken Crook
Terry & Kris Cudahy
Tony & Jennifer Dzwonar
William T. Farkas
Tim & Amy George
Charlie & Lori Grandy
Perry & Michelle Griffith
Michael & Liane Hulka

Jim & Christy Jacobi
Matt & Emily Kaiser
Marc & Pam Klein
Larry & Beth Lammers
Louis & Leigh Lazaron
Sandy & Kathy Levine
Jim & Sara Lootens
Jeff & Stacy Lozer
Mike & Sarah Manion
Michael & Margy McCormick
Mac & Sarah McNaught
Michael & Dede Moore
John & Patty Nichols
Scott & Katie Nichols
Tom & Allison Oestreich
The Palmer Family
Chad & Jennifer Patsel
Andrew Pike
Bill & Heather Pitcock
Ralph & Hope Power
Steve & Jane Pratt
Eddie Prein & Amy Judge-Prein
June Prein

Art & Bonnie Rettig
Lance & Ellen Rettig
Tom & Marsha Reynolds
John & Susie Ross
Andy & Joanna Russell
Steve & Jennifer Sanner
Bob & Alice Schloss
Jeff & Donna Schmahl
Dick & Jamie Schulte
Stephanie Schultz
Jeff & Cassandra Short
Wendy Sommers
Dave & Ann Sternberg
Georgia Strickland
Bill & Barb Tait
Matt & Sara Tait
Kip & Robin Tew
Jerimi & Kristin Ullom
Brian & Susan Williams
Steve & Ginat Wintermeyer Mirowski
Deb Wolfe
Dr. Nikki Woodson
Daryle & Suzanne Zybert